Skip to content High contrast mode

MFATheatre Directing

University of Essex
United Kingdom, Colchester
Tuition fee £12,700.00 per year
More information

Expenses, accommodation, working etc. 


This is a unique professional course that has been designed specifically for those who already are or wish to become professional theatre directors. MFA Theatre Directing is open to students from around the world. East 15 runs some modules overseas, mostly recently in Moscow, Thailand and Bali, involving specialist practical study in another cultural environment. Teaching is by a wide range of leading experienced directors and professional practitioners from the UK and overseas.

We offer dynamic and unique course for actors, directors, technical theatre specialists and students of theatre practice. Training at East 15 draws upon 50 years of tradition combined with a keen sense of the world of stage and screen today.

Programme structure

Year 1

Contemporary British Drama (optional)
Brecht and His Influences (optional)
The Techniques of Adaptation (optional)
Collaboration with Designers (optional)
Attachment (Assistant Director) (optional)
Directing in Drama Schools/Universities (optional)
The Artistic Director (optional)
Independent Directing Project (optional)
Theatre of the East (Field Study Option) (optional)
Shakespeare (optional)
Music Theatre (optional)
Stanislavskian Acting Methodology (optional)
Meyerhold & Biomechanics (optional)
MA Theatre Directing Written Dissertation (optional)
MA Dissertation By Director’s Production Workbook (optional)
MFA Theatre Directing Written Dissertation (optional)
MFA Dissertation By Director’s Production Workbook (optional)
MFA Theatre Directing Dissertation By Practical Project (optional)

Apply now!
Application start
Aug 1, 2018
Dec 1, 2018 23:59
Europe/Tallinn time

This is a pre-deadline and we suggest to apply before this date

Primary deadline
Aug 1, 2018 23:59
Europe/Tallinn time

We are currently NOT ACCEPTING applications from NON-EU countries, except Georgia and Serbia.

Application deadlines apply to citizens of: United States