Skip to content High contrast mode

MEng (Hons)Architectural Engineering

Tuition fee £17,350.00 per year
Course code HK28
More information

Expenses, accommodation, working etc. 


The Architectural Engineering degree is a multidisciplinary degree, encompassing Civil Engineering and Architecture.

The degree programme will provide you with a multidisciplinary skill set to design building structures, bridges and critical infrastructure utilising not only the solid technical

grounding that a typical civil/structural engineering degree provides but also a robust and wider appreciation of the architectural, societal, economic and environmental aspects associated to a particular design solution.

Working across both disciplines, Architectural engineers apply engineering principles to the planning, design and construction of the built environment.

Architectural engineers are responsible for the design of different systems within a building or aspect of critical infrastructure with a particular focus on key areas such as:

- creating innovative design strategies to improve our cities and infrastructure
- structural integrity to sustain earthquakes, fires, vibrations, wind loading, explosions and impacts
- modelling and design of heating, ventilation & air conditioning systems to make an environment hospitable for the user
- acoustic performance and lighting design
- sustainability and energy efficiency

Career opportunities

Architectural Engineering graduates are in great demand. Careers in Civil and Architectural Engineering offer the highest paid jobs for graduates in the UK (source: Telegraph 10 best paid jobs for graduates, Aug 2015). Career opportunities include;

Structural Engineering
Civil Engineering
Bridge Engineering
Geotechnical Engineering
Façade Engineering
Lighting Design
Pure Architecture
Land Surveying
Large Scale Development

Apply now!
Application start
Aug 1, 2018
Application deadline
Aug 1, 2018 23:59
Europe/Tallinn time

We are currently NOT ACCEPTING applications from NON-EU countries, except Georgia and Serbia.

Application deadlines apply to citizens of: United States